The HYArts district nurtures and celebrates the creativity and talent of established and emerging Cape Cod artists.
HHAC at Guyer Barn
The Guyer Barn
adjacent to Barnstable Town Hall parking lot
Accessible from Hyannis Main Street, public parking lot which is located right after JFK Museum and before Hyannis Public Library.
CURRENT HOURS: Always by appointment.
The Guyer Barn is a showcase for emerging and established local artists in a wide variety of genres. It is a community art space – a working artist studio and professional artist gallery supporting and promoting the arts where visitors gather year round to enjoy changing exhibitions, classes and workshops and performances. The Center is part of the HyArts campus of town owned properties-which includes Sarah Holl Artspace at 46 Pearl Street and Gallery Artrio and Bass River Pottery at 50 Pearl. 50 Pearl was once a residential home and has a rich history as a gathering place for local artists. Playwrights and poets congregated at the home for lively readings and original Vernon B. Coleman murals decorate the basement walls. Throughout the year visitors can meet the artists at 46 and 50 Pearl.
Do you have time to spare during the week? Why not surround yourself with art and help keep the arts alive in the community! The Hyannis Harbor Arts Center is looking for volunteers to help man the gallery. Any amount of time is appreciated! For more information or to volunteer contact email@example.com!
The Guyer Barn, was accepted into the National Register of Historic Places in 1988, was built in 1865 by Captain Sidney Crowell and is a typical example of early wood frame construction. Arthur Guyer, a pharmacist for whom it was later named, acquired the barn at the turn of 20th century. The barn has had a number of owners and uses over the years. In 1959, the Town of Barnstable acquired the building, but it was not until 1986 that the Board of Selectmen approved the use of the building as a gallery. A studio/workshop was added to the barn to be used as classroom space. Over the ensuing decades, the barn's transformation and place in the community continued to evolve. Pat Curcio who served as director for many years, was an accomplished artist and a champion of the arts. She and friend Shirley Blair Flynn worked tirelessly to support local artists. Pat passed away in August 2007.
Click here to see a 1928 newsletter "The Log" published by the Hyanis Rotary Club about Arthur G. Guyer!